Paralympian, Alphanso Cunningham, was the recipient of the award for the most outstanding male athlete with disability at the prestigious Commonwealth Sports Awards held last weekend at the elegant Hyatt Regency Hotel in the republic of Trinidad & Tobago.

Alphanso was the gold medalist in F52/53 Javelin in the recently concluded Paralympic Games in London and is a multiple medalist at international championships.

In javelin, he has won gold medals at the 2003 Para Pan American Games in Argentina and the 2010 USA Americas Cup.

In discus, he has won gold medals in the Athens 2004 Paralympic Games, the 2003 World Games, England, the 2003 Para Pan American Games in, Argentina, the 2007 Para Pan American Games in Brazil and the 2010 USA Americas Cup, USA.

Paralympian Alphanso Cunningham photographed with (L-R) Christopher Samuda, President of the Jamaica Paralympic Association, Dr. Iva Gloudon, Trinidad & Tobago’s High Commissioner to Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago Olympian Hasely Crawford, TC & Jamaica’s Olympian Donald Quarrie, CD

His collection also has several silver medals and In the wake of his outstanding performances he has established world, regional, paralympic and championship records

Founder, Al Hamilton, MBE, stated that “from its inception we have strived to illuminate the deeds of commonwealth athletes and to encourage the youth to aspire for higher heights”

Now in its 30th year, other recipients were the Hon. Mike Fennell, O.J. for Sports Administrator of the Year; Vivian Cheruiyat, Kenya, Most Outstanding Female Athlete; Kirani James, Grenada, Most Outstanding Male Athlete: Eleanor Simmonds MBE, England, Most Outstanding Female Athlete with Disability; and Keshon Walcott, Trinidad & Tobago, Most Outstanding Young Achiever.

Olympian Donald Quarrie C.D., Olympian Merlene Ottey, C.D., Dr. Iva Gloudon, High Commissioner of Trinidad & Tobago to Jamaica and Hasley Crawford, T.C., Trinidad & Tobago’s Olympian were recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Paralympian Alphanso Cunningham photographed with Jamaican Olympian Donald Quarrie, CD, President of the Jamaica Olympic Association, Hon. Mike Fennell, OJ, Ian Dowe, IFBB World Amateur Championships winner and President of the Jamaica Paralympic Association, Christopher Samuda